Summer Reading 2016
ATL Year 7: What YOU Should Know About US!Biology Year 10: Global Warming & EvolutionBiology Year 9: Controversial Issues in Genetic TechnologyChemistry Year 9: Safe Drinking WaterChemistry Year 10: Alternative FuelsDP Theatre Arts: Rudolf LabanDT Year 7: PlywoodDT Year 8: Sustainable Design Canvas BagsDT Year 9 & 10: Community GardenEnglish DP: Joseph Conrad's Heart of DarknessEnglish Year 9: Blood GoldHumanities Year 6: Introduction to HistoryHumanities Year 6: World ReligionsHumanities Year 7: ExplorersHumanities Year 7: Middle AgesHumanities Year 7: The RenaissanceHumanities Year 7: The Silk RoadHumanities Year 8: The EnlightenmentHumanities Year 9: VolcanosHumanities Year 10: The Arab SpringHumanities Year 10: The Cold WarHumanities Year 10: World War IIHumanities Year 11: Summer Reading AssignmentMusic Year 10: FugueResearch: Evaluating SourcesScience Year 6: Nutrition, Obesity & MalnutritionScience Year 7: Endangered SpeciesHome
Databases & Related Websites by Subject
TIS Secondary LibraryExtended EssayTOKCAS
This is the "Home" page of the "TIS Secondary Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

TIS Secondary Library   Tags: ee  

Last Updated: Dec 5, 2016 URL: http://tashschool.libguides.com/seclib Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the TIS Secondary Library


 

Vision Statement: The TIS Secondary Library embraces our diverse community of learners and seeks to promote intellectual freedom, reading for pleasure, and information literacy skills. We support the school mission to educate students to be internationally-minded, think creatively, reason critically, and communicate effectively. 

 

Mission Statement: The Secondary Library at Tashkent International School supports our academic program by providing services, resources and facilities for research, study and pleasure reading. A full-time teacher librarian is supported by a library assistant. Students and parents are encouraged to make use of the library facilities.

 

How to Use the Library Site

The site is organized alphabetically by topic tabs (Pleasure Reading, Research & Citations, etc.), as listed at the top of this page. For database login information, see the librarian. Dive in and have fun looking around; we add content frequently.

Online research pathfinders organize resources for convenient 24/7 access from school, home, or anywhere with an internet connection. The library also provides quick links to SAT practice sites and readers’ advisory services to help students locate good books.

Resources

The secondary library houses approximately 10,000 volumes, including non-fiction and fiction collections, periodicals, reference titles, and an audiovisual collection. The library also provides a number of databases for student research.

 

Services

The librarian delights in recommending books to readers of all ages, teaches information literacy, research techniques, use of Web 2.0 tools, and provides reference services for the community. Please contact secondary librarian Susan Waterworth with questions or suggestions.

 

We look forward to seeing you in the library!

 

 

Library Catalogue

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search
 

In the Library

 

Get Connected in the TIS Secondary Library

 

Infographic Credit

Credit: Connected Learning Research Network and Digital Media & Learning Research Hub

Creative Commons License This Connected Learning Infographic is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License. You may Share and Adapt it, but you must give appropriate credit, provide a link to the license, and indicate if changes were made.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Susan Waterworth
 

Library Information

Teacher Librarian: Susan Waterworth

Library Assistant: Dilafruz Rakhmatova

Hours: 7:45 am - 5:00 pm M - F

 

 

Recommended

Book recommendations, book reviews, quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists
 

Reading for Fun

Go to the tab titled "Pleasure Reading"at the top left of this page to find information on books that you may want to read. Let me know what you'd like to see in the library and we'll do our best to get it. Thank you!

 

Library Apps!

Download the Destiny Quest app for your iPhone, iPod or Android devices that allows you to search the library catalogue and Webpath Express database, plus check your account and place holds on books.

For iPhone or iPad.

For Android.

To set up the app after downloading, enter our library URL: library.tashschool.org, then get your user name and password from the librarian (they are both your library number). Here's a video to guide you through the process. See Ms. W for help.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip